Perfectly Imperfect

What is perfection? Perfection means different things to different people and has too many synonyms but I think it is nothing but a perception. What is perfection to me may not seem so to you!

perfect woman.jpg

The WOW prompt talks about painting the picture of the Perfect Woman. Who is she? Where do I look for her? Does she exist? Do I know her? Too many questions to ponder…

Then I saw her! In the mirror smiling at me… Yes, I am the Perfect Woman. I am a daughter, a wife, a mother, a grandmother, a friend and most importantly a Woman. I am reminded of what I read some time back… “Imperfections define perfection.”

My hair is turning grey, but I now have got a head of hair even after losing them during my chemotherapy. I know I will develop crow’s feet around my eyes over time, but my eyes reflect my smile. When I smile, I know my teeth are crooked but it is the smile of a contented woman and more importantly I can chew my food. My ears are a little big, but I hear very well with them and of course wear beautiful earrings. My right breast is smaller than my left, thanks to a lumpectomy for cancer, but I am alive. My nails are not always neatly trimmed and painted, but they are the hands of a woman who takes care of her home. I do not have an hour-glass figure but then I have lived a happy life. Physically imperfect!!!

Does all this define me as a woman, perfect or imperfect? No, it is what I am from within that makes me perfect or otherwise.

I am a woman, a wife, a mother. My house is not always squeaky clean or look like a museum. It reflects the life and love within. I do not have a perfect figure. I have love handles and stretch marks. They show I am a mother and have enjoyed my life. I make mistakes. I laugh, cry, and scream with anger and frustration. I have emotions and am not scared to show them. I feel pain but know how to tackle it. I am not always successful. I fall but I get up every time and continue. I am not perfect.

I have the confidence to fight for myself and those I love. I am mature enough to distinguish between the right and the wrong. I can be decisive and stand my ground. I am poised, competent, self-confident and committed. I have self-esteem. I love life and believe in living it to the fullest.

At the end of the day, it is important to

  • Be happy, be yourself. Remember there is a lot more to the day.
  • Be daring.
  • Be impractical.
  • Be different.
  • Be smart.
  • Have opinions. Value them.
  • Make a difference.
  • Have feelings and respect them.
  • Be proud.
  • Remember you are beautiful inside out.

I know I am a woman of substance. I am perfectly imperfect and I am happy with that.

I am the Perfect Woman.

 

‘This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.’

Value

3 thoughts on “Perfectly Imperfect

Leave a Reply

