I am grateful …….

 

piglet_gratitude_winnie_the_pooh.jpg

 

I recall reading a quote by Eckhart Tolle that acknowledging the good that you already have in your life is the foundation for all abundance. More often than not, we tend to take things for granted and just let them pass. Gratitude is the readiness to show appreciation for and to return kindness. When you are grateful for small things in life, you realise that your attitude and outlook change and opportunities open up in great numbers.

All through childhood the importance of polite behaviour and the magic words please, thank you and you are welcome has been reinforced so much that uttering these words is now automatic. As a result, they are used in society as part of polite behaviour and often uttered without much thought.

Gratitude, on the other hand is more carefully used and well thought out. When I say that I am grateful for something, it means that I am affected by that and hence it carries more meaning. That does not mean that being thankful is not an honest emotion.

How would you cultivate gratitude?

  • Notice the little things around you that you took for granted all these days from a point of gratitude. They will not seem little anymore.
  • Pay a compliment to someone every day.
  • Share your appreciation for something that you see. Make it a habit.
  • Convert a negative view that perceive into something positive. Every coin has two sides.
  • When faced with some problem or adversity, take it as a learning experience.
  • Stop complaining for every little thing. Try it for a week and see how good it feels.
  • Maintain a journal to note down things you are grateful for. Write down 5 things every day.
  • Pick up your phone and call someone important to you out of the blue. You will be surprised to hear the happiness in their voice.

 

complaints-gratitude.jpg

On this World Gratitude Day, let me list a few things I am grateful for.

  • The little things that my husband does for me, keeping in mind my comfort and happiness.
  • The messages from my daughter checking up on how we are doing or just to say I love you.
  • How my friends go out of their way to help one another through actions, prayers or thoughts.
  • How my 79-year-old mother surprises us with some shopping just because she thinks the saree that she saw in the store on display would look good on me or my daughter.
  • Being able to sleep peacefully and wake up healthy every day.
  • The ability to eat well.
  • The strong circle of friends and family.
  • The beautiful flowers and greenery around me and the eyesight to admire them.
  • The smiles I get from people around me, friends and strangers.
  • The strength to beat breast cancer and recover my health.
  • Every breath I take.

I started on a gratitude journal some time back. Some of the entries are repeated even on a daily basis. If I am grateful for my coffee in the morning everyday, there is nothing wrong in it. It is after all a new day!

So what are you grateful for?

 

 

#WorldGratitudeDay #everydaygratitude

 

8 thoughts on “I am grateful …….

  1. May you have more and more things to be grateful about 🙂 I enjoyed reading your list and totally agree with you that every day is a new day and there is nothing wrong in being grateful about the same things – even if it is a cup of coffee 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you for bringing the “two sides to every coin” reference to my attention. Too often I *not* do this and I really need to look at things differently from time to time. Wishing you many more days in which to be grateful. Especially that cup of coffee! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

