The fight to be Fighting Fit

item1099413_600px.jpeg

Yayyyy for me!!! I completed a year of serious gymming. In fact I am a late bloomer when it comes to fitness. I confess I have been procrastinating on my work outs/ walks or physical exercise of any sort. I have my excuses ready for that, like it or not. I was working full-time, had to manage my home and do a lot of other things. I was even blaming the steroids that were administered during my chemotherapy days. My fault is that I never thought of finding ‘me time’ for myself.

I put on weight after my chemo sessions in 2009 and the fat decided that my body was the best rent free accommodation that it could find. I am sure it didn’t like the nourishment it got from my diet, in spite of which it refused to leave me alone.

In August 2015, I went for my annual pricking, prodding and probing by the sadists who call themselves doctors and nurses (they forget that it’s my body that is being tortured) aka known as Annual Health Checkup. I was overweight, though not obese.When the reports came in, I found to my horror that my cholesterol level (though within acceptable levels) was tending towards the higher reaches. The physician advised no medicines, just exercises and walks. I then woke up to the fact that I had to seriously lose some weight and bring down my cholesterol levels. The mirror had been showing that all these days, but I was choosing to ignore it.

I walked into the gym near my house and enrolled. I started with walking on the treadmill and stationary cycling followed by simple exercises. I was getting cramps in muscles I never knew existed till then. Then started the slow hog towards developing my stamina and strength and toning of my muscles.

I had been suffering from a lot of pains and aches in most joints and muscles of my body over the last 7 years. As I started working out, I slowly realised that my pains were disappearing and I was becoming stronger and healthier.

I lost weight. I moved down to clothes which were a size smaller. All my old clothes started hanging loose on my body. Most importantly, I was  feeling happier and energetic. I was receiving compliments on my weight loss.

This year’s medical checkup gave better reports. The cholesterol did not come down drastically, but the doctor blamed it on my genetics… gifts from my maternal side of the family.

The extra weight that most of us tend to laugh away is not good. What we fail to recognise and accept is that it can lead to severe health issues and that too at an early age itself. Regular exercises or walks coupled with the right diet will go a long way in keeping us healthy.

When I say eat well, I am talking about the right balance of quality and quantity. Nobody is asking us to stay totally off anything. It is alright to binge once in a while on any kind of food, but remember anything in excess is bad.

I go early in the morning to the gym for my workout which lasts around an hour and a half. I have now added a 30 minute evening walk in the park everyday which gives me a chance to click pictures of the sunset, the lush green plants and trees, and the kids playing. When I started last year, people asked me why I had suddenly started working out. I just had one answer ‘better late than never’.

d9fdda64cf61e1f9d1f5dc09ef2d703b

Today I feel fighting fit (at least as much as a 51-year-old can feel). I am in good spirits. I feel good I get that ‘me time’.

I am never going to give up exercising now. It has become an addiction. I now know my health and happiness are in my hands.

#health #fitness

Procrastination

4 thoughts on “The fight to be Fighting Fit

  1. S.P.Krishnamurthy

    I like no love these words Quote” I am never going to give up exercising now. It has become something like an addiction. I know my health and my happiness are in my hands.”

    You conveyed everything.
    spk

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

