Mirror, mirror on the wall

Huffing and puffing my way on the 6th day of BarAthon…

mirror_capgras

I had been trying my best to quash my temptations for all things yummy and sinful. Shakira has been crooning quite loudly and insistently (she just doesn’t take a hint). I had avoided looking in the mirror and asking the question, ‘Mirror, mirror on the wall, who is the fairest of them all?’, because I wasn’t ready to face up to the truth.

After having consciously avoided the Food court at the mall last week, I sighed when I saw some beautiful dresses on sale. But wishful thinking on my part, I turned a deaf ear to the helpful (?), nay obnoxious salesgirls who tried to advise me and decided to pick up three beautiful pieces of work (not disclosing the size, keep guessing) and walked into the trial room. Alas, it ended up in an epic clash of the titans with me trying to huff and puff and squeeze my way into those dresses. I stopped midway for fear of tearing them and paying for the damages.

I walked out of the trial room with dignity and tried to put those dresses back on the rack stating (for whose consumption, I don’t know) that those colours and prints didn’t look good on me. I could hear the salesgirls snickering while I was walking away. If looks could kill, she would have perished there.

I was a trifle upset at not having been able to fit into those dresses. (Another matter that the salesgirl’s knowing looks and the sarcastic smile added insult to injury…) I decided that I needed to work out and go on a careful diet to get a figure to die for. Tomorrow, that is when I will start, I decided.

The next morning dawned and what should I see but a post from a friend which made me smile. (Not commenting on the authenticity of the matter in the post. It suited my mood, so ended up using it.)

‘Marilyn Monroe….the world’s biggest icon! Her tummy isn’t tightly toned, her thighs touch, her arms aren’t skinny, she has stretch marks and her boobs aren’t perky. She is known as one of the MOST BEAUTIFUL women in history. Be confident girls. You are HOT, you are SEXY, you are a Marilyn so do not let any man, media or moment of judgement ever take away your confidence!’ 

And then the it dawned on me… What’s sauce for the goose …blah blah blah….

I now no longer will deprive myself of an occasional treat. I will look into the mirror with confidence and ask the question and I know what the answer is going to be.

Mirror, mirror on the wall

You cannot make me take a fall

I can take my own call

For you know me not at all…

barathon

 

#Blogathon #Blogarhythm #Wishfulthinking

6 thoughts on “Mirror, mirror on the wall

Leave a Reply

